Safety Culture

How Electrically Safe Is Your State?

Mike Holt’s 2014 State Rating on the Electrical Industry

By Brandi Fuller

How Electrically Safe Is Your State5Mike Holt — author, electrical trainer, code expert and industry professional — has released his annual report that “assigns a safety grade to each of the United States based on points for state-wide adoption and enforcement of the following electrical standards:  

-  The most current NEC®.
-  State licensing requirements for Apprentice, Journeyman, Master, Contractor, Inspector and Engineer.
-  Continuing Education requirements for license renewal.

The Breakdown
Holt gave 51 grades for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Grading was based on the total number of points, which vary from 1-12, with 12 being an A+ and 1 being an F. According to the newsletter found here, “one point is assigned to each element of the licensing type, and one point for each element of the continuing education requirements for that license type.”

Additional points are given for adopting the most current NEC. For adopting the 2014 NEC, three points are given; for the 2011 NEC, two points are awarded, and just one point is allotted for adopting the 2008 version of the NEC. If your state is still operating under the 2005 NEC, then zero points were granted, and if it has a prior NEC or just local codes, then you lose a point. Any state that has not adopted a newer version of the NEC since the last report will automatically be minus a point because of the new scale, according to the report.

What Grade Did Your State Make?
The As: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

The Bs: Colorado, Florida, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

The Cs: Alabama, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Pennsylvania

The Ds: Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Nevada, New York

The Fs: Arizona, Kansas, Missouri

Click here to review a complete history since 2007 and details of how points are assigned.

Please use the “Comments” section below to let us know what you think.

Post your comment



No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments